Community Notes


The Town of Chester Public Library
Warren County, New York
Library Hours and Contact Information:
The Town of Chester Library
PO Box 451
Chestertown, NY 12817
518-494-5384
library@chesterlibrary.org

Open:
Monday - 9am to 1pm (July & August only)
Tuesday - 9am to 1pm
Wednesday - 9am to 6pm
Thursday - 1pm to 6pm
Friday - 9am to 6pm
Saturday - 9am to 1pm



The Town of Chester Historian's office and Museum of Local History
Located on the second floor of the Municpal Center in the hamlet of Chestertown.

HISTORIAN:
Donna Lagoy
c/o Town Hall,
PO Box 423
Chestertown NY 12817, 494-7983
Hous by appointment


MUSEUM:

Open in the Summer season only
Tuesday, Wednesday, & Thursday
10am to 3pm

The Town of Chester Municipal Center
Located on Main Street (Route 9) in the hamlet of Chestertown.

The Municipal Center is the location for:

The Assessors Office (518-494-3515)
The Bookkeeper's Office (518-494-2711)
The Clerk's Office (518-494-5160)
The Food Pantry
The Historical Museum
The Library (518-494-5384)
The Town Court (518-494-3133)
The Town Historian's Office (494-7983)
The Town Supervisor's Office (518-494-2711)
The Zoning and Planning Office (494-7369)

Transfer Station Hours & Fees:
Sunday - 9:00am to 4:45 pm

Monday - 9:00am to 4:45 pm

Tuesday - closed

Wednesday - closed

Thursday - 9:00am to 4:45 pm

Friday
- 9:00am to 4:45 pm

Saturday - 9:00am to 4:45 pm

A permit, available for $5.00 at the Transfer Station, is needed.

Fees:

Recyclables - no charge

Glass, tin, plastic bottles (with a neck), aluminum, newspapers, magazines, household batteries, aerosol cans, and cardboard.

Items need to be rinsed out and labels and caps removed; separate glossy paper and inserts from newspapers and place with junk mail and magazines.

Flatten cardboard boxes.

Garbage Bags
0-16 gallon size $2.00
17-32 gallon $3.00
33-40 gallon $4.00
Over 40 gallon $9.00

Tires
Under 14" $1.00
14"-16" $2.00
17"-20" $3.00

Propane Tanks
Small $4.00
Medium $5.00
Large $6.00
Miscellaneous
Mattress, box spring,
chair, small tv, microwave, computer
$4.00
Couch, large tv, $5.00
VCR $3.00
Sleeper couch $9.00
Refrigerator, freezer, air conditioner $10.00
No charge for some other appliances - see attendant

Construction and Demolition Material
$30.00 per cubic yard

Burn Pile
Brush only. No charge. See attendant.

Metal Pile
No charge. See attendant.

TOWN of CHESTER and NEW YORK BOATING RULES and REGULATIONS
All boats and PWC's (jet ski) must be outfitted with safety equipment required by New York State Law. A U.S. Coast Guard approved fire extinguisher must be on every boat except outboard boats of open construction with portable gas tanks such as row boats.
All motor boats and PWC's must be properly registered. (Registrations kept on board). Lights must be on when boats are operated between sunset and sunrise. (Sunset generally occurs about 30 minutes before dark) Water skiing is prohibited during hours when lights are required
Registration numbers and current validation stickers must be properly displayed. Except when leaving or returning to a launching or docking area, PWC's cannot be operated:
A) within 200 feet of the shore, of anyraft, dock, vessel, or anything or person being towed.
B) within 500 feet of a designated public swimming area.
A U.S.C.G. approved PFD (life jacket) of appropriate size, and in serviceable condition, must be readily available for each passenger on board any boat. PWC's cannot be operated before 9:00am or after 7:00pm.
Any operator or passenger less than 12 years of age must wear their PFD. The general speed limit on Loon Lake is 45mph. However the speed limit is 5mph within 100 feet (200 feet for PWC) of shore, a raft, a dock, or an anchored boat
All water skiers or anyone being towed by a boat or PWC must wear a PFD. Operating a boat or PWC while under the influence of alcohol or drugs is also both dangerous and illegal.
Water skiing and other towed activities require a spotter at least 10 years old. Operating an overloaded boat is both dangerous and illegal.
The operator, and any passengers, on a PWC must wear their PFD regardless of age, and the
lanyard engine cut-off must be attached to the operator.
Reckless operation, such as wake jumping on a PWC, unsafe speed or water skiing in a congested area, or allowing a passenger to ride on an open bow is prohibited
Children under 10 years of age may not operate a motorized vessel unless accompanied by a
parent or person over 18, except see special rule for PWC's.
Power boats and PWC's are inherently noisy, especially when operated at higher speeds. Please be considerate of others and do not operate a noisy vessel for extended periods in the same area.
Children between 10 and 18 years of age may not operate a motorized vessel unless:
A) they have passed a course and have on board with them their safety certificate, or
B) they are accompanied by someone over 18. (See special rule for PWC's)
New York State law requires all PWC operators to have a safe boating certificate and carry it while operating the PWC. Certificates issued from other states are accepted, but absolutely no on-line courses qualify.
A serviceable whistle or horn must be on board every boat and PWC.
 

Questions or comments?
We would like to hear from you. Send us your best photos for inclusion in our website!    Email Us

 

Copyright ©2011 Loon Lake Park District Association, P.O. Box 301 Chestertown, NY 12817